A Note

3 Sep

In a blog whose main content is aimed at the general introduction of the human skeleton, and its application in the scientific analysis in the fields of bioarchaeology and heritage, that invariably comes with the understanding that those who we have studied, and continue to study, have first died.  That their agency as a living individual is over, and their agency as a dead individual within a (largely) archaeological context remains, often as the total physical and anonymous sum of their existence on earth.

That can seem to be a heavy burden, as least in its theoretical implications of education outreach and dissemination.  Yet a number of fantastic bioarchaeology bloggers are helping to maintain and break down the so-called ‘ivory tower’ of academic research and the sometimes dense issues that propagate the bioarchaeology discipline.  Some, such as Jess Beck of Bone Broke and Kristina Killgrove of Powered By Osteons, make it fun and interactive.

This blog has never, unlike other well respected and much-loved bioarchaeology blogging sites, aimed to be a purely academic enterprise.  I’ve always included the personal, the outraged, the fictional, and the didactic.  Since starting this site I have always tried to at least regularly update it, where possible.  That is not the case at the moment.  I feel in some sense tied to the mast as to why I should explain that this is so.

Unexpectedly a close friend has died.  There was no warning, just the act of a life taken in the prime.  I’m not particularly young and I’m not particularly old, but the thought of death stalking my age group (my friends!) is almost alien.  Grief has captained my feelings and I fear that it shall be so for a while longer yet.  How deep it will go I do not yet know.

As such I do not foresee any posts appearing on this blog for the immediate future, due to this and to other currently outstanding obligations.  I will write again though, and I will think of my friend as I do for they also shared a love for heritage and archaeology.

8 Responses to “A Note”

  1. Mary September 3, 2015 at 4:20 am #

    My condolences of the loss of your beloved friend. I look forward to reading your next blog post when you’re ready to post again.

  2. Kacey Groves September 4, 2015 at 1:51 am #

    I am truly sorry for your loss. My condolences go out to you, your colleagues, and any lives your friend may have touched. Once again, I am truly and deeply sorry for you loss.

  3. Electric Puppet September 5, 2015 at 10:32 pm #

    I am so sorry for your loss. Don’t feel under any obligation to get back to blogging until you’re ready; we will be here when you come back, and are thinking of you at this time.

  4. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) September 9, 2015 at 1:14 pm #

    I’m sorry for your loss. Don’t feel bad about not updating for a while; I’m sure everyone will be patiently waiting for your return!

  5. nicky553 September 11, 2015 at 5:07 am #

    I’m sorry for your loss. Death at any age is a tragedy. I’ve enjoyed your posts and I hope you can be back soon.

    • These Bones Of Mine October 14, 2015 at 10:45 pm #

      Thank you for your posts, each and everyone. It is much appreciated.

  6. Bodies and Academia November 3, 2015 at 2:25 pm #

    So sorry for your loss and all my best thoughts! I feel bad I missed this post 2 months ago and did not write sooner!

    • These Bones Of Mine November 4, 2015 at 1:23 am #

      Thank you. There is no need for your apologies, my thoughts are with you too.

Leave a Reply

