2011 In Review

1 Jan

So it seems as if a few archaeological blogs are posting stats up for year in the form of the annual reports for their blogs- here is mine!

Admittedly it is not very exciting reading, but it is good to know that this blog attracts a general worldwide readership.  I dearly hope that some good, and maybe even some learning, comes from reading my posts.  As always, please feel free to comment on any mistakes or exciting things or finds I have made or would find interesting.  One day I will revamp this blog to make it more user friendly (apologies for the awesome/horrible graphics and colour collisions!).

2011 has been full of beautiful surprises and adventures to far away lands.  I’ve thoroughly enjoyed every minute, and have been thankful to the wonderful people I have met in the course this year, and in the adventures of digging, researching, revising, dissecting & osteologising!  So, if you are reading this and you know me, thank you for making it a wonderful year.

I’ve finally took part in a cemetery excavation, not in the UK, but in Germany courtesy of Grampus Heritage, I’ve made and met many intelligent and interesting friends on a new university course, & I’ve gained valuable skills and knowledge from experts.

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 130,000 times in 2011. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 6 days for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

I’ve also made it onto this list here- http://www.online-biology-degree.com/human-biology, and been linked in various other blogs, which is good to know.

Although I have not updated this blog properly in regards to the Skeletal Series posts, I always welcome guest posts and other archaeological/osteological/forensic guest articles.  Please feel free to email me or leave a comment below.  I always want to take this opportunity to thank those who have emailed me with interesting articles, tales of bones found and nods to new research and updates.  It is thoroughly welcome, so cheers for taking the time to contact me.

I hope every reader has a happy, safe and wonderful 2012.  Thank you once again for reading the ramblings of a graduate student!

Leave a Reply

