Photographs from the German Excavation

29 Aug

Well I’ve just got back to the UK today after 6 wonderful weeks on placement at Landesamt fur denkmalspfliege und Archaeologie Sachsen Anhalt, which was based in the Sachsen Anhalt state capital of Magdeburg, in Germany.  I’ll do a full write up later in the week, but for now enjoy some photos!

The Domersleben Site

Rescue burial excavation at the medieval site at the village of Domersleben, just outside Magdeburg

The skeleton in the above photo before lifting

Neanderthal from Le Moustier, at the Berlin Neues Museum.

Magdeburg Cathedral & Cloister

The Reichstag in Berlin

Max Plank Institute- sadly not the evolutionary anthropology centre!

View of Otto Von Guericke University, waiting for a lift to Post Excavation

Further information:

Berlin Neues Museum

Max Planck Centre for Evolutionary Anthropology & department for Human Evolution

Magdeburg Cathedral

Otto Von Guericke University

7 Responses to “Photographs from the German Excavation”

  1. Scribbler September 2, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    Looks like you had a great trip over there mate, glad you enjoyed Berlin as much as I did, ’tis a good city with plenty of places to eat (and drink!) Hope you tried the currywurst, I didn’t, and have regretted it ever since…

    • These Bones Of Mine September 2, 2011 at 8:21 am #

      Cheers Jamie! I had a great time, and I love Berlin! Unfortunately I didn’t try the currywurst I’m afraid… We shall have to go back! I hear you are off to Vienna very soon. I haven’t seen your blog before, its duly linked now, I still need to improve the graphics a bit on mine.

  2. Scribbler September 2, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    Thanks, I’ll return the link!

    Yeah, I’m off to Vienna on Sunday, currently got the hits of Falco playing thanks to Spotify. I’m a bit surprised I don’t own them on CD as he’s posthumously awesome!

    • These Bones Of Mine September 2, 2011 at 8:35 am #

      Cheers! ah that sounds great, I hope you have a great time! I shall have to check out some Falco I feel…

      • Scribbler September 2, 2011 at 8:37 am #

        Get the 8-minute version of “Rock Me Amadeus” if you can, it’s one of my guilty pleasures – the synthy-string near the end is brilliant, if you love 80s music, that is 🙂

  3. These Bones Of Mine September 2, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    I’m listening now…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grampus Heritage German Excavation Write Up « These Bones Of Mine - September 15, 2011

    […] in archaeology with Grampus Heritage.  Here is the first post and here is a post with various photos from the dig.  I completed a short report on the placement, and its available here (2011 excavation), on the […]

Leave a Reply

