Personal Effects

1 Mar

Tonight my father passed to me a small autograph book to look at, one that had once belonged to my great grandmother.  The book, which dated in use from around 1916-1919, contained small notes from friends and hospital bound soldiers from the Yorkshire and Durham areas of England, places where my great grandmother lived and worked as a nurse.

There was some fine examples of jokes, sweet messages and beautiful little ink and pencil drawings of countryside scenes.  One picture, found towards the end of the autograph book and drawn in 1919, depicts the flags of the allies draped around a peaceful landscape scene of homes with the single word ‘peace’ placed at the bottom.

This opening sweet poem to the collection also caught my attention:

I slept and dreamt that

life was beauty,

but woke and found that

life was duty.

As I delicately turned the pages I wondered what became of these men nearly one hundred years ago.

2 Responses to “Personal Effects”

  1. Anastasia March 2, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    This must be a very interesting book!!I envy you… and I would have the exact same question..

    • These Bones Of Mine March 2, 2014 at 11:31 pm #

      It really is! Some fantastic little pen drawings in there as well as some very funny little practical jokes. Most have signatures and the year so I am sure I’d be able to research them given the chance (the book is back in my father’s hands at the moment).

      Such a privilege being able to read a personal memento. It also made it vitally clear to me that paper can survive for centuries, millenia, whereas I very much doubt that this digital resource would survive for another 100 years (just think of unreadable digital media now from less then 20 years ago or VHS/betamax/ etc!).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 482 other followers

